People depend on being able to drive their vehicles to get to work, run errands, or drop their children off at school. For this reason, it’s important that you contact an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible when facing a DUI charge.
There are many. Below, you will find information concerning how to recover a driver’s license after a DUI conviction.
If you have any questions after reading this article, then please feel free to contact us.
What does DUI mean?
DUI stands for driving under the influence. This means illegally driving your vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. If you drive with blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08%, you are at risk for being pulled over by police due to DUI. DUI charges also apply toand certain prescribed medications.
Michigan has afor drunk driving. This means that there is no distinction made between driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI). While other states may be more lenient by differentiating between DUI and DWI, Michigan is not one of these states.
This is why you should contact a DUI attorney to help you handle the legal consequences of a DUI charge.
What are the different levels of drunk driving offenses?
Depending on your history with drunk driving convictions, you will face different consequences. If you are a habitual drunk driver, you will receive significantly harsher consequences than someone facing their first DUI. In the state of Michigan, there are three levels of drunk driving offenses.
Your first drunk driving offense could result in a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license and up to 90 days in jail. Subsequent drunk driving offenses could result in the indefinite or even permanent loss of your driver’s license.
To understand the differences between levels of drunk driving offenses and how you are affected, be sure to contact a drunk driving attorney who will fight for your legal rights.
How can I get my driver’s license back?
Once you have a DUI on your record, you will have to meet certain requirements before being able to restore your driver’s license.
- Stay sober for 12 months
- Have three individuals willing to vouch for your sobriety
- Prove that you received rehabilitation counseling for alcohol abuse
- Prove membership in a recovery program, such as
How can I prevent a DUI charge?
To, it’s always important to . For example, if you drive to a local bar, you need to have a plan for how you will get back home. If you are drinking with a group of friends, have a designated driver who you can trust to stay sober. If you’re by yourself, call a taxi or a friend to come pick you up.
The best way to prevent a DUI conviction is to not get in front of the wheel when intoxicated.can be helpful to determine how much alcohol you can drink while staying below the legal limit. However, keep in mind that people are affected by alcohol differently depending on their absorption and metabolism rates.
Need a DUI Attorney?
If you are interested in hiring a Grand Rapids drunk driving attorney , please feel free to call Beurkens Law at (616) 459-5344. Attorney Jerry M. Beurkens is dedicated to helping customers regain their driving independence after a DUI charge.
This blog post has been updated.