The court will suspend your driver’s license for up to 6 months after your first DUI conviction.
For this reason, it’s important you call our DUI attorneys in Grand Rapids, MI right away.
You may qualify for a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension. A restricted license lets you drive to work, school, home, and court-ordered locations.
Keep reading to learn how a DUI in Michigan could lead to a suspended or revoked license.
We’ll also tell you how your BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) affects DUI consequences.
1. BAC of 0.08 or Higher
It's illegal to drive with a BAC of 0.08 or higher when you're 21 or older. If convicted for the first time, the court will suspend your driver's license for up to 6 months. But, if you call right away, we can help you get a restricted license after serving 30 days of the suspension. Our drunk driving attorneys have handled countless cases and are ready to help you fight for your rights.
2. BAC of 0.17 or Higher
You'll receive harsher consequences for your first offense if your BAC was 0.17 or higher at the time of your arrest. If you're a "High BAC" driver, the court will suspend your driver's license for up to a year. This is why it's important to hire one of our drunk driving lawyers.
Our DUI attorneys can help you get a after serving 45 days of the suspension. You'd then get a court order to install ignition interlock devices on vehicles you own and/or operate.
An ignition interlock device prevents drunk driving. To start the vehicle, you have to blow into the mouthpiece and be below the programmed BAC. The device will also ask for more breath samples at random intervals while you drive.
This prevents you from asking another person to provide a valid breath sample so you can drive drunk. If you drive without an ignition interlock device, your vehicle will be immobilized and your license plate possibly confiscated.
3. Past DUI Convictions
The court will revoke your driver's license if this is your second offense within 7 years. They'll also deny any request for a new driver's license for at least a year.
Yet, the court may deny a request for 5 years if they previously revoked your license within 7 years. They'll also confiscate your license plate and immobilize your vehicle for 90 to 180 days for good measure.
A third DUI offense is a felony in the state of Michigan. As a result, you'll face much harsher consequences. The court will revoke and deny your driver's license if you have 2 convictions within 7 years or 3 within 10 years. They'll also confiscate your license plate and immobilize your vehicle for 1 to 3 years unless you forfeit it.
READ MORE: What Should You Do If You’re Pulled Over for a DUI? >>
An Attorney Can Help
Keep in mind that each DUI case is different. This is why it's so important to hire one of our drunk driving lawyers as soon as possible. If you have more than one drunk driving conviction, the court will be much tougher on you this time around. Don't wait. Call our DUI attorneys today!
Need a DUI Attorney?
Jerry Beurkens and Kara Beurkens are drunk driving attorneys in Grand Rapids, MI. To request a consultation, call Beurkens Law at (616) 459-5344.
[This blog post has been updated.]