Although riding your motorcycle without a helmet is dangerous, many motorists prefer the look and feel of helmet-free riding. In the state of Michigan, you can opt to ride a motorcycle without a helmet if you meet certain requirements. If you’re a motorcycle rider, here are the things our Michigan motorcycle accident attorneys want you to know about wearing your helmet.
Why don’t you need to wear a helmet in Michigan?
In 2012, Governor Rick Snyder repealed a law mandating that motorcyclists wear helmets.Now you can opt to ride a motorcycle without a helmet in the state of Michigan.
Some say that Snyder’s decision was motivated by his desire to improve Michigan tourism. Due to our past legislature for motorcyclists, it is true that some tourists have opted for states with less restrictive traffic laws. At the time, we were the 31st state to legally make.
Snyder also said that he valued a person’s decision to make their own choices. In a statement, Snyder said, “While many motorcyclists will continue to wear helmets, those who choose not to deserve the latitude to make their own informed judgments.”
Should I wear a motorcycle helmet?
Ultimately, the decision to wear a motorcycle helmet is up to you. You should make an informed decision knowing that you risk endangering yourself in a motorcycle accident.
The only real benefit to not wearing a motorcycle helmet is that it creates a less restrictive riding experience. Many motorcyclists find helmets to be bulky or inconvenient.However, there are a few medical concerns our motorcycle accident attorneys would like you to consider.
Your risk of a fatal motorcycle accident increases exponentially the faster you’re driving, so if you plan to do a lot of highway travel, a helmet can help keep you safe.
Theanalyzed the same data and ruled that wearing a motorcycle helmet could be good for your finances. “Economic costs saved from helmet use by society in states with a universal helmet law were, on average, $725 per registered motorcycle, nearly four times greater than in states without such a law ($198).”
What do I have to do?
If you choose not to wear a motorcycle helmet in Michigan, you must be 21 or older and have been endorsed for your motorcycle on your operator’s or chauffeur’s license for the past two years. If you have recently been endorsed to ride your motorcycle, you may pass a motorcycle safety course as an alternative.
If you choose to not wear a motorcycle helmet, you should also be aware that your medical insurance company will require you to carry a policy with a minimum of $20,000.
Overall, you’ll need to decide for yourself whether you’d prefer to wear a helmet when you ride your motorcycle, although you should take your safety into concern when you make your decision.
Call Our Motorcycle Attorneys Today!
OurGrand Rapids, MI motorcycle accident lawyers are always willing to guide you through the legal process when you’ve been involved in a motorcycle accident. To request a consultation with one of our Michigan DUI attorneys, call Beurkens Law at (616) 459-5344.
This blog post has been updated.