If you’ve been arrested for drunk driving in Michigan, chances are you’re going through a wide range of emotions. The best course of action is to stay calm and consider your options. Our DUI attorneys have a long track record of helping people who have been arrested for driving under the influence, and we can help you too.
We understand that you might be feeling anxious, stressed, or even scared after being arrested for DUI. If this is your first offense, you may not understand what’s going to happen or how a DUI conviction could affect your future. You may have a lot of questions, which is why it’s important to hire our DUI attorney as soon as possible. Our drunk driving lawyer in Grand Rapids, MI is here to help! Check out our list of frequently asked questions to get started.
1. Will I go to jail for drunk driving?
You can go to jail for drunk driving. However, it’s not likely if it’s your first offense. With your first DUI, you could face up to 93 days in jail or a maximum of 180 days if your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) was 0.17% or higher. The consequences become more severe if you were previously convicted of . For example, people convicted of a third DUI can face up to 5 years behind bars. Don’t take a chance. Hire our DUI attorney today.
2. Will I lose my license after a DUI in Michigan?
If this is your first DUI offense, you will be able to keep your driver’s license. However, your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days or 365 days if your BAC was 0.17% or higher. During this time, you won’t be able to drive. If you have multiple DUI convictions on your record, they may revoke your driving privileges indefinitely.
3. What’s the difference between a DUI and OWI?
Both DUI and OWI are acronyms for drunk driving. While DUI means, OWI means operating while intoxicated. The state of Michigan uses OWI to describe drunk driving offenses. This is because the definition of the word “operating” is broader than “driving.” You can operate a vehicle even if you’re not driving it. For example, if you are drinking in a parked car, that is considered “operation” and you could be arrested for a DUI.
4. Do I need a DUI attorney?
Yes, you should absolutely hire our DUI attorney as soon as possible. Each case is different, which is why it’s important to have our drunk driving attorney help you navigate the legal system. For example, your DUI consequences may be more severe if you had a passenger under the age of 16 or a BAC at or above 0.17% at the time of your arrest.
Call Our Office Today
Our Grand Rapids, MI DUI lawyers are always willing to guide you through the legal process when you’ve been charged with a DUI. To request a consultation with one of our Michigan DUI attorneys, call Beurkens Law at (616) 459-5344.